Fiji Rugby names squad for the Rugby World Cup

The 31 member Fiji Airways Flying Fijians squad has been named for the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.

The team :

Campese Ma’afu

Eroni Mawi

Peni Ravai

Mesulame Dolokoto

Samuela Matavesi

Ratu Vere Vugakoto

Leeroy Atalifo

Manasa Saulo

Kalivati Tawake

Tevita Cavubati

Leone Nakarawa

Api Ratuniyarawa

Tevita Ratuva

Semi Kunatani

Viliame Mata

Mosese Voka

Dominiko Waqaniburotu (Captain)

Peceli Yato

Frank Lomani

Niko Matawalu

Henry Seniloli

Levani Botia

Jale Vatubua

Ben Volavola

Veriniki Goneva

Filipo Nakosi

Waisea Nayacalevu 

Semi Radradra

Josua Tuisova

Josh Matavesi

Alivereti Veitokani

Kini Murimurivalu

With 35 days to go to the Rugby World Cup, Head Coach John McKee says the squad, captained by Dominiko Waqaniburotu, has an opportunity to do something special for Fiji and is challenging the players to step up their intensity and commitment to make a real impact in Japan.

McKee says with 35 days until Fiji’s opening match against the Wallabies, now is the time to step the team’s preparation up in the final phase to ensure they put ourselves in the best position to achieve their performance goals at the Rugby World Cup.

The Fijian squad has an exciting balance of youth and experience with 15 players heading to Japan for their debut Rugby World Cup and five players stepping out for their third major tournament.

McKee says he is very pleased to announce a group of players to represent Fiji at RWC 2019 which he believes has the potential to challenge for a place in the Playoffs from Pool D.

He stresses that they must not let this opportunity to do something special for Fiji slip by.

The Flying Fijians have a 10‑day camp from today before they fly to New Zealand to play their final test match against Tonga on the 31st of August at Eden Park.

The squad reassembles in Nadi for a week’s camp on the 2nd of  September where they will be farewelled at a formal dinner at the Sofitel on the 3rd before flying out to Japan on 6th September.

Fiji play their first game against the Wallabies in the Rugby World Cup at 4.45pm on September 21st.

Fiji is pooled with Australia, Wales, Georgia and Uruguay.