Ireland dominates World Rugby awards after stellar year

Ireland are the big winners at this year's World Rugby awards held in Monaco on Monday (NZ time).

The world number two side won 11 of their 12 tests in 2018, including winning the Grand Slam by going undefeated in the Six Nations and beating the All Blacks for the first time on home soil.

Coach Joe Schmidt, who is set to confirm on Tuesday he'll step down after the World Cup, won coach of the year while the World Rugby Team of the Year also went to Ireland.

They capped off the night with first-five Johnny Sexton beating out All Blacks duo Beauden and Rieko Ioane, along with South African pair Faf de Klerk, and Malcolm Marx for the award. 

Full winners list:

World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year – Winner - Johnny Sexton (Ireland).

World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year – Winner - Jessy Tremouliere (France).
World Rugby Team of the Year  – Winner - Ireland
World Rugby Coach of the Year  –  Winner - Joe Schmidt (Ireland)
World Rugby Referee Award  – Winner - Angus Gardner
Try of the Year  –  Winner -  Brodie Retallick (All Blacks)
World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year - Winner - Aphiwe Dyantyi (South Africa)
World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year - Winner - Perry Baker (USA)​
World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year - Winner - Michaela Blyde (Black Ferns Sevens)
IRPA Special Merit Award  – Winners: DJ Forbes (NZ), Stephen Moore (Australia)
Spirit of Rugby Award - Winner - Jamie Armstrong
Award for Character - Winner - Doddie Weir - Former Scotland international
Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Winner - Yoshirō Mori - President of the Japan Rugby Union.