40th Anniversary

Thousands march through Port Vila to mark Vanuatu's independence

The parade started in the Tagabe area and finished four and a half hours later at the Independence Park.

It began with a ceremony at the march starting point where a Vanuatu flag was handed over from family of the first Prime Minister, Father Walter Lini, to family of the second Prime Minister, Donald Kalpokas.

The flag was handed to representatives of successive prime ministers with the last station seeing Charlot Salwai present to current Prime Minister, Bob Loughman.

Australia Day 2018 marks 40th anniversary of Australia in Vanuatu

The office, opened by Australia’s Consul General to Noumea, Bill Fisher, was symbolic of Australia’s strong and vocal support for Vanuatu’s independence and meant Australia was one of the first permanent diplomatic missions to be established following the formation of the Republic of Vanuatu in 1980.

Australia’s High Commissioner, Jenny Da Rin, was joined by Vanuatu’s acting President, Esmon Saimon, and Prime Minister, Charlot Salwai, to celebrate the occasion and reflect on this major milestone in the Australia-Vanuatu relationship.