Vanuatu Government leadership faces uphill battle

The Vanuatu Government is facing yet another challenge to its leadership after the Opposition filed a motion of no confidence against the Prime Minister.

The document was deposited at the Office of the Clerk of Parliament today.

Leader of Opposition, Ishmael Kalsakau has confirmed that thirty Members of Parliament (MP) have signed the motion of no confidence against Prime Minister Charlot Salwai.

The Opposition bloc has given the Speaker of Parliament 7 days’ notice to debate the motion.

Among the signatories in the notice to the Speaker of Parliament are two GJP parliamentarians and one VP parliamentarian who have joined the Opposition bloc.

The Minister for Justice and Community Services, Don Ken has tendered his resignation and the opposition bloc has released a copy of the resignation to the public.

All 30 MPs who have signed the motion also signed a separate “Assertations” document to prove that they understand what they are doing and have done so in free will.


Photo supplied. Caption: Opposition leader Ishmael Kalsakau depositing a notice of a motion of no confidence at the Office of the Clerk to Parliament


Tensly Sumbe
Breaking News