Oceania 7s to include deaf tournament

A deaf competition has been included for the first time ever in this year’s Oceania Rugby 7s.

The tournament aims to encourage equal opportunities for Women’s rugby and Deaf rugby across the Pacific region and beyond.

In a statement, Oceania Rugby Competitions Manager Wayne Schuster said they are excited about the inclusion of the Oceania Rugby Deaf tournament.

The category will feature International Deaf teams from Fiji, Papua New Guinea and Samoa.

The Canadian Women’s team and the Japan SDS Men’s and Women’s team will feature in this year’s format including Oceania’s Vanuatu Women’s team, who will feature in their first international rugby outing.

Fiji will once again host the tournament and FRU Chief Executive John O’Connor said they are grateful to World Rugby and Oceania Rugby for the opportunity to host the tournament.

The 2019 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship will kick off at the ANZ Stadium in Suva from the 7th to the 9th of November.


Josephine Navula