Cayman Islands

Earthquake in Caribbean triggers tsunami warning for Cuba, Jamaica

It triggered a tsunami warning for Cuba, Jamaica and the Cayman Islands, the US Geological Survey and the International Tsunami Information Centre said.

The quake, initially reported as a magnitude 7.3 before being upgraded, was centred in the sea between Jamaica, the Cayman Islands and Cuba, at a shallow depth of 10 kilometres.

"Hazardous tsunami waves from this earthquake are possible within 300km of the epicentre along the coasts of Jamaica … Cayman Islands and Cuba," the International Tsunami Information Centre said.


Action for agribusiness to boost small island economies

A workshop held on the eve of the Caribbean Week of Agriculture 2016, being staged in the Cayman Islands from October 26 to 28, has explored the main drivers of agribusiness development and examined success stories that can be scaled up.

Adopting a more business approach to agriculture is emerging as a profitable strategy for small-scale producers and agro-processors in many small island countries of the Caribbean, helping to increase revenues and jobs for rural communities.

Vanuatu cricketers aiming to be well-prepared

The Melanesian side came up short at the same stage two years ago, finishing third behind hosts Jersey and Nigeria.

They will face the Cayman Islands, Norway and Saudi Arabia in the pool stage of Cricket League 6 when the event begins in less than a fortnight.

The President of Vanuatu Cricket, Mark Stafford, says the national team is currently playing friendly matches in Australia before continuing their preparations in Europe later in the week.

Vanuatu Cricket finalise Squad for WCL Division Six

Eight teams will be participating in the tournament — Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Botswana, Fiji, Norway, Saudi Arabia, Suriname and Vanuatu.

The 14 man Digicel Vanuatu Squad is as follows:

1. Andrew Mansale (Captain)

2. Jonathon Dunn

3. Jelany Chilia

4. Trevor Langa

5. Patrick Matautaava

6. Nalin Nipiko

7. Simpson Hopeman Obed

8. Joshua Rasu

9. Apolinaire Liplip Stephen

10. Kenny Tari

11. Niko Unavalu

12. Ronald Tari

13. Wolford Kalworai

14. Callum Blake