Micronesian leaders

NZ's PM says Micronesian leaders decision regrettable

Nauru, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Palau and the Federated States of Micronesia decided to withdraw from the Forum.

Micronesia's leaders are upset over the appointment of former Cook Islands prime Minister Henry Puna as the Forum's new secretary-general

They say South Pacific countries dishonoured a "gentleman's agreement" under which it was Micronesia's turn.

Jacinda Ardern said the Micronesian leaders' decision was regrettable and saddening.

Micronesian leaders to debate leaving Pacific Islands Forum

They say the rejection of Marshall Islands' Gerald Zackios has led to division within the Pacific. PIF members voted in favour of former Cook Islands prime minister Henry Puna.

The Chair of the Micronesian Presidents' Summit, Lionel Aingimea of Nauru, has scheduled Monday's virtual meeting.

It follows last October's 'Mekreos Communique' where presidents of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru and Palau insisted the Forum honour an unwritten gentleman's agreement to rotate the secretary general role by sub-region.