OFC Champions League 2018

Dwellers to play Team Wellington

This was confirmed this week after the official draw was held at the OFC Academy in Auckland, New Zealand, giving the quarter final match-ups, the semi-finals and finals.

Team Wellington, who topped Group D in Honiara at the weekend, will welcome Group A runners-up Lae City Dwellers to Wellington. This match is set for April 7.

Solomon Warriors, runners-up in Group B, will again find themselves on the road as they also travel to New Zealand to play reigning champions Auckland City FC.

Madang fall to Lautoka

The Fijian side pushed out to a 2-0 lead with goals to Benjamin Totori in the 21st and Cory Chettleburgh eleven minutes later.

Madang fired back minutes before the break through midfielder Maskulan Pulung.

However, Lautoka secured the win in late in the second half when Brian Kaltack found the back of the nets to register the first win in Pool C.

Next up for Madang FC will be the defending champions Auckland City FC. This match is scheduled for next Wednesday, February 28 at 4pm (1pm PNG time).

Madang, Lautoka to open Pool C matches

Madang FC, Lautoka FC, AS Venus and defending champions Auckland City FC make up the pool.

The opening match will be between Madang FC and Fiji’s Lautoka FC at 1pm (10am PNG time) this Sunday.

Following this AS Venus from Tahiti takes on the home side Auckland City FC starting at 4pm.

The format is the same with the top two teams to advance on to the quarter-finals.

PNG’s other team in the Champions League, Lae City Dwellers FC, made history last Friday by becoming the second team from PNG to advance past the pool matches after finishing second in Pool A.

Gunemba pleased after big win

Dwellers’ 7-2 win over Tupapa Maraerenga FC over the weekend has not only put them on top in Pool A but also sent out an ominous warning to the other teams that the lads from Lae mean business.

The current standings:








Toti City depart for OFC League

The lads from Lae are in the same pool alongside Tupapa Maraerenga FC from Cook Islands, Vanuatu’s Nalkutan FC and Ba FC from Fiji.

Toti City will kick off their campaign against Tupapa Maraerenga FC at Korman Stadium on February 10.

PNG’s other team that will take part in the Champions League, Madang FC, have been slotted into Pool C.

Pool C matches will be played at The Trusts Arena, New Zealand, in March.

The winners of the 2018 OFC Champions League will qualify as the OFC representative at the 2018 FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.