Road to ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 starts in South Africa

The road to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 starts next month, as the global qualification phase launches at the ICC World Cricket League Division 5 in South Africa.

The road to India 2023 sees fierce competition to progress up the ladder with eight teams representing five regions. Cayman Islands, Germany, Ghana, Guernsey, Jersey, Italy, Qatar and Vanuatu will all take part in the six day competition hosted in Benoni, South Africa.

27 Associate Members battled it out in the 2017 regional qualifiers with one team from each region qualifying to Division 5. Two teams from the tournament will qualify for Division 4 to be played in mid-2018 and five teams will be relegated to the regional divisions.

Teams have plenty to play for and it provides them with an opportunity for hard-fought competitive cricket in the 50-over format. Group A comprises of Italy, Guernsey, Cayman Islands and Qatar. While Jersey, Vanuatu, Ghana and Germany will be fighting to secure the top two spots of group B. The top spots from each group will play in the semi-finals, and the bottom two sides will compete for placings.

“This is a great event to be a part of and we have all the islands of Vanuatu behind us, cheering us on and wanting us to do well. We have been preparing hard for South Africa and are confident of what will be hard-fought cricket against some talented teams,” said Vanuatu captain Andrew Mansale.


Vanuatu: Andrew Mansale (captain), Patrick Matautaava, Jelany Chilia, Nalin Nipiko, Wolford Kalworai, Joshua Rasu, Trevor Langa, Ronald Tari, Wesley Viraliliu, Williamsing Nalisa, Jamal Vira, Callum Blake, Zechariah Kalo Shem, Kenny Tari

3 September – Cayman Islands v Qatar, Sahara Main Oval;

Italy v Guernsey, Willowmoore A;

Jersey v Vanuatu, Willowmoore B;

Ghana v Germany Willowmoore C
4 September – Jersey v Germany, Sahara Main Oval;

Vanuatu v Ghana, Willowmoore A; Guernsey v Cayman Island, Willowmoore B; Italy v Qatar, Willowmoore C

5 September – Rest/Reserve day

6 September – Guernsey v Qatar, Sahara Main Oval;

Italy v Cayman Islands, Willowmoore A;

Jersey v Ghana, Willowmoore B;

Vanuatu v Germany, Willowmoore C

7 September – A3 v B4, Sahara Main Oval,

B3 v A4 Willowmoore A; A1 v B2 Willowmoore B;

B1 v A2 Willowmoore C

8 September – Rest/Reserve Day

9 September – Final (Winner A1 v B2 V Winner B1 v A2), Sahara Main Oval;

3rd place v 4th place (Loser A1 v B2 V Loser B1 v A2) Willowmoore A;

5th place v 6th place (Winner A3 v B4 V Winner A4 v B3) Willowmoore B;

7th place v 8th place (Loser A3 v B4 V Loser A4 v B3) Willowmoore C

Group A – Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Italy, Qatar

Group B – Ghana, Germany, Jersey, Vanuatu,


Photo Twitter/Vanuatu Cricket



Breaking News