UEFA Men's Player of the Year award

Buffon, Messi, Ronaldo up for prize

The prize, formerly called the Best Player in Europe Award, was won by Real Madrid star Ronaldo last year and has twice been given to Barcelona forward Messi.

Andres Iniesta and Franck Ribery are the only other players to have lifted the trophy.

The prize recognises the best players, regardless of nationality, playing for clubs in UEFA territories and is judged on their performances in domestic, continental and international competition.