Extraordinary session

Vanuatu MPs summoned to meet for Extraordinary Session

Six motions including a motion of no confidence in the Prime Minister, election of a new PM and the reinstatement of Gracia Shadrack are to be moved in the extraordinary session.

Other motions include the removal and appointment of the 1st and 2nd Deputy Speaker of Parliament and the election of the 3rd and 4th Deputy Speakers.

Yesterday afternoon, 27 Members of Parliament signed a motion of no confidence against Prime Minister Bob Loughman Weibur and called for an extraordinary session of parliament.

Vanuatu Parliament sitting scheduled for 20 April

Members of Parliament will debate three written motions and six Bills.

The Bills are the Bill for the Public Health (Amended); Bill for the Value Added Tax (Amended); Bill for the Tax Administration (Amended); Bill for the Statute Law (Miscellaneous Provisions); Bill for the Citizenship (Amended) and Bill for Dangerous Drugs (Amended).